An Elegy To One

 

My thoughts of you are pure

So are my promises sure.

To you I won’t ever lie

Nor will I today hold my sigh.

I almost wrote you a letter

Something to make my heart better

But decided it was too atheistic

I almost wrote you a song but

Decided words are never enough

I almost whispered a lie

A promise to love you till I die,

But come on let’s be realistic

I don’t mean to be nihilistic

Death is but a horizon

I will love you beyond its profanity

Beyond the boundaries of my sanity

Further and further into my own oblivion.

 

               By M.M.Wayne

One thought on “An Elegy To One

Leave a Reply

